Thursday 14th July 2016 – Sea Day QM2 – en route to Hamburg

IMG_3422

I turned on the stateroom TV and watched ‘Wake Up With Paul’ with Entertainment Director Paul O’Loughlin who read out questions guests ask the Captain, going way back in history – “The thing I want to know Captain is, who is driving the ship?”, “Is this the worst storm you have ever experienced?”, “Does Cunard pay for your uniforms?!, “What time do you get up in the morning?”, “Do you know a reliable tailor in London?”, “Captain, when does this place get there?”, “If I post this letter today, when will it get to New York?” (Said on a Transatlantic crossing to New York), “Is this the same moon that I can see in Chicago?” and “Why are the deck lights left burning all day?” to which one Captain replied “In case we go through a tunnel Madam”. Paul spoke about the five ‘Canine Cunarder’s’ in the Kennels sailing Southampton to Hamburg. A Lakeland terrier called Emma, two Japanese Chin called Gismo and JeJe, and two Boxers Patso and Picola. Seventeen guests had birthdays announced. I had a shower and was disappointed with the single layer shower curtain which drifted about in an attempt to stick to me. Unlike the double and heavier shower curtain I had in a balcony cabin last month. I made myself a cup of tea but the milk from the milk pot had curdled. I later realised that is because this isn’t UHT milk – it is labelled ‘Keep Refrigerated’ and this had been left on the try in the wardrobe. I enjoyed a nice breakfast in Carinthia Lounge. Despite being on similar warming equipment found in the Kings Court, the hot food is hot – the Kings Court should learn from this! I asked the waiter for a pineapple juice and I was served a pineapple juice filled with ice. I noted the waiter went in a huddle with three other waiters, so didn’t return to ask me if I would like another drink after, which I would have liked. The Breakfast Panini consisting of scrambled egg, cheese, English Back Bacon and Cumberland sausage was nice. Brown or red sauce would have made it even better! The Wild Mushroom Croissant looked nice too but I would have to wait for another day to try that. Yoghurt with blueberries with granola topping was good. Chocolate Muffin was rich and so much better than previous Cunard Muffins. Afterwards, I went to Alena at the purser’s desk to enquire about on board credit. Once again £25 on board credit I had been promised had not been added to my account. Alena said she would contact main office and leave a message in stateroom phone if I’m not there when she calls. She did indeed call later but rather than adding £25, added $25. I decided it wasn’t worth the effort of rectifying the mistake. I joined the queue in Connexions for Planetarium ticket and had a decaf whilst queueing. Back to stateroom and Maria had just finished refreshing it. I then went to the shops were there was 10% off everything but nothing stood out at me. I went to bookshop and library. I couldn’t find any books of real interest in the library and the books I picked up to see whether they were interesting were worn and old. It’s about time the library books were changed for new and interesting books. I picked up a New York magazine hoping to find some nuggets for my TA in November but found nothing of note. I headed up one deck to the Commodore Club for an orange juice and lemonade. The lecturer at 10am (Roy Bilham, ‘Blowing My Own Trumpet around the World’), I have seen before so gave it a miss. I decided to attend the lecture on Vikings by Dr William M. Fowler at 11am which was interesting seeing how the Vikings took over almost everywhere. The traditional Noon announcement advised we had passed Dover at 03:00 and we had continued through one of the World’s busiest shipping lanes and passed into Noord hinder junction around 09:00. At 09:30 we were abeam of Europort out on the Starboard side (which is the Port leading to Rotterdam) we were now passing Ijmuiden which is a canal which takes you to Amsterdam. We expected to reach Elbe One Pilot Station at 23:00. We would later take on a further two pilots to navigate the river and also a docking pilot in Hamburg itself. We expected to dock at 06:30. Third Officer Kevin Morrissey advised us we had travelled 285nm at an average speed of just over 16 knots, leaving a distance of 258nm to the berth in Hamburg. Depth of water below the keel is 30m or 98 feet, sea temperature 15°C or 59°F, short low northerly swell of up to just 1m or 3ft, mostly sunny skies, temperature 17°C or 63°F, winds from the North, North West, force 5 on the Beaufort Scale, which is a fresh breeze, 17-21 knots.

 

I had a pre-luncheon drink of Tomato juice and Worcester sauce in the Golden Lion Pub then met Lee for luncheon in Britannia Restaurant. I enjoyed White Onion Soup with Basil Croutons. Fish Curry served with Steamed Rice, Poppadum’s, Chapatti and Condiments was nice. Strawberry and Honey and Ginger Ice Creams with Passion Fruit Sorbet and Caramel Sauce. Afterwards we took a bottle of Dom Pérignon 2006 to the Verandah Restaurant, so it would be waiting and booked a table for tomorrow night at 20:15. Then I went to the Commodore Club for a large lemonade then watched a Planetarium Show in the only planetarium at sea. ‘To Space and Back’ narrated by James May. It didn’t feature an awful lot of space, it was more about how things invented for space exploration have then found a use back on land thus shaping our lives. We went to afternoon tea in the Queens Room and sat with to two nice ladies from Liverpool. The cakes were delicious. After waiting a long time for scones, we enquired and were advised due to demand in Queens Room and Kings Court they had run out. So another batch had to be baked which caused a delay. You can usually have eaten in about 30 minutes but today it was 70 minutes. I returned to my stateroom for a lay down but there was no peace due to theatre rehearsals. Lee and I met up and quaffed 2004 Dom Pérignon, then went straight to dinner in Britannia Restaurant. I enjoyed Tempura Prawns with Radish Slaw, Sweet Chilli Sauce and Garlic Mayonnaise. A salad of Celery, Artichoke, and Sun Dried Tomatoes, with a Fine Herb Vinaigrette. Unfortunately, there was a solitary tiny portion of artichoke which let the dish down. Braised Daube of Beef Bourguignon with Creamed Potatoes, Glazed Carrots and Broccoli. Cappuccino Cheesecake with Chocolate Sauce. No petits fours available tonight but there were some chocolate mints at the door so I took a few of those. We decided not to see Duo Acrobatique perform. Instead I went to the RADA (Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts) Ghost Story in Carinthia Lounge. I chose one of the new Port Cocktails – ‘Chancellor’ – Chivas Regal 12 year old blended whisky, Ferreira Dona Antónia Reserve, Noilly Prat Extra Dry Vermouth, Angostura Orange Bitters $10.50. It was okay but a lot lighter than I expected. I wasn’t smitten on RADA Ghost Story as anyone can read from a page. I thought there may have been cast members in the audience participating or subdued lighting or sound effects. But nothing. Not at all what I expected, rather a damp squib. I returned to my stateroom and lost 10mins on the Internet being connected to ‘absolutely nothing’, except the ships internal Wi-Fi again. Beware when buying a package that you won’t get to use it all – some minutes will be lost by the spinning wheel and nothing loading. Disconnecting and reconnecting usually does the trick. My Champagne flute hadn’t been cleaned and was still sitting on the coffee table.

 

Leave a comment